What needs to be understood about viruses/worms in circulation today is their ability to forge e-mail headers. The only way to identify the true source of an infected e-mail is to contact the ISP who's ip number appears in the message header, then they can deal with the infected user who used their resources to send the virus/worm.
I have a section on my website which shows you how to view/copy the internet headers, then using the IP number of the machine that sent it to you, visit http://www.arin.net/abuse.html enter the IP number in the search box, where one of two things will happen:
1 it's a US based network and the "Admin-C' or Administrative/abuse contact will be show or,
2 Arin will direct you to the appropriate regional WHOIS contact where you will once again enter that IP and discover the Admin-C e-mail to send a complaint to.
As with scams/frauds do not simply hit REPLY and complain, the addressee is most likely not th one responsible for sending it.
-----Original Message-----
From: rohit [mailto:rksbmw@...]
Sent: Monday, December 06, 2004 10:48 AM
To: DoShelp@yahoogroups.com
Subject: Re: [DoShelp] beagleDear LynnI had a similar problem and found out my name was being used to send abusive virus infected e mails . I complained to isp police etc but they are not that interested in things they do not understandthe ip address i was getting from them is 81.96.183.114 with my name !!Can you confirm if it is the same ip address or my name so i can take further appropriate actionrohit singhit may be rohit@... or singhrks and I have even seen it from rksbmw from this accountthankyou for your help
lynn_parrish <lynn_parrish@...> wrote:
hello,
i don't know if i am in the right place or not...
i'm just trying to find out if beagle worms are sent on purpose by
the sender (in order to benefit from the ports they open) or if they
are sent without the sender's knowledge.
i was sent the beagle worm three times by the same person (whom i
don't know), and i'm wondering if i'm "under attack" by this guy or
if it's a random thing.
i want to report him if it's on purpose, and someone told me this
website might be the place.
thanks, sorry if this is a dumb question.
lynn
Moving house? Beach bar in Thailand? New Wardrobe? Win £10k with Yahoo! Mail to make your dream a reality.