Search the web
Sign In
New User? Sign Up
WinTips-Tricks · Windows Tips
? Already a member? Sign in to Yahoo!

Yahoo! Groups Tips

Did you know...
Message search is now enhanced, find messages faster. Take it for a spin.

Best of Y! Groups

   Check them out and nominate your group.
Having problems with message search? Fill out this form to ensure your group is one of the first to be migrated to the new message search system.

Messages

  Messages Help
Advanced
WTF is 'Win32/AMalum.ZZOIZ' ???...   Message List  
Reply | Forward Message #106365 of 107935 |
Re: WTF is 'Win32/AMalum.ZZOIZ' ???...

Indeed, a 'false-positive' courtesy of CA (first i've had in 18 months...that
teaches me to plug them!).
A lot of unhappy CA users on the CA user forums overnight and this morning.
Those running SP3 on XP the most angry...
mike

>>> In WinTips-Tricks@yahoogroups.com, "Michael Welch" <TechZilla@...>
wrote:Mike, If this is the origional location...c:\windows\downloaded program
files\fp_ax_cab_installer.exe it may be Adobe Flash Player. If you googleup
fp_ax_cab_installer.exe you will find all sorts of references to it but only a
few that mention Adobe.
Detecting it as a piece of malware may be what is called a "false positive".
However, it could also be a variation of what CA calls
> Win32/AMalum.ZZIOZ and may be related to Alfons.1344. No way of knowing
actually since since malware security software manufacturers
> can't seem to agree on a naming convention for malware. So those names are
specific likely to CA.
Since it's an installer there is no reason actually to leave it in quarantine.
If it was maliciuos and part of something else that
is going to be an reoccuring event, it likely will appear and be quarantined
again. However if you just did an update on Adobe
> website recently, it may indicate the reason for the presence of
fp_ax_cab_installer.exe (flash player activeX installer).
Michael






Thu Jul 9, 2009 6:54 pm

mgandtherays
Offline Offline
Send Email Send Email

Forward
Message #106365 of 107935 |
Expand Messages Author Sort by Date

Anyone know what it is?.... My CA Internet Sec Suite detected and quarantined it... But CA appears to itself be confused over what it is! It's calling it...
mike
mgandtherays
Offline Send Email
Jul 9, 2009
10:10 am

Mike, If this is the origional location...c:\windows\downloaded program files\fp_ax_cab_installer.exe it may be Adobe Flash Player. If you googleup...
Michael Welch
mrwelch98
Offline Send Email
Jul 9, 2009
10:56 am

Indeed, a 'false-positive' courtesy of CA (first i've had in 18 months...that teaches me to plug them!). A lot of unhappy CA users on the CA user forums...
mike
mgandtherays
Offline Send Email
Jul 10, 2009
10:05 am
Advanced

Copyright © 2009 Yahoo! Inc. All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy - Terms of Service - Guidelines - Help