Whenever some nice person/weirdo/fruit loop sends you ANY warning
message that says "tell/send this to everyone on your list" DON'T. It's
virtually certain to be false, as is this one. For your own peace of
mind you may want to research any you get, but it just makes you look
totally naive when you fall for another one of these.
Regards,
James
.
.
Yes obvious this is why all members receive Guidelines, when joining the Group:
16) Please don't send any chain letters, jokes, urban legends, get rich quick
posts or recipes to the list. Regardless of how legitimate or heart wrenching
they might sound. The vast majority are hoaxes. Please contact the list owner
with your concern or check out http://ciac.llnl.gov/ciac/CIACHoaxes.html if you
still have the urge
to post them. I always paste the first sentence of such Emails to my browser,
I’ve yet to find a genuine one yet.
Perhaps this needs amending, but the principle remains the same:
IGNORE IGNORE IGNORE
Wise words from Martha on this subject
http://www.marthas-web.com/virus-warning.htm
> Posted by: "pixeking" pixeking@...
>
<mailto:pixeking@...?Subject=%20Re%3AGot%20this%20message%21%21%21%21>
> pixeking <http://profiles.yahoo.com/pixeking>
>
>
> Mon Jul 13, 2009 5:51 am (PDT)
>
>
>
> IS IT ANOTHER SILLY SCARE STORY??????
>
> Always best to read these emails just in case there's any truth in
> them......
>
>
> >
> > IF A PERSON CALLED SIMON ASHTON ( SIMON25@...
> <mailto:SIMON25%40HOTMAIL.CO.UK> ) CONTACTS YOU THROUGH EMAIL DON'T
> OPEN THE MESSAGE.
> >
> >
> >
> >
> >
> > DELETE IT BECAUSE HE IS A HACKER!!
> >
> > TELL EVERYONE ON YOUR LIST BECAUSE IF SOMEBODY ON YOUR LIST ADDS HIM
> THEN YOU WILL GET HIM ON YOUR LIST. HE WILL FIGURE OUT YOUR ID
> COMPUTER ADDRESS, SO COPY AND PASTE THIS MESSAGE TO EVERYONE EVEN IF
> YOU DONT CARE FOR THEM AND FAST BECAUSE IF HE HACKS THEIR EMAIL HE
> HACKS YOUR MAIL TOO!!!!!...
> >
> > Anyone-using Internet mail such as Yahoo, Hotmail, AOL and so on.
> This information arrived this morning, Direct from both Microsoft and
> Norton. Please send it to everybody you know who has access to the
> Internet. You may receive an apparently harmless e-mail titled 'Mail
> Server Report'
> >
> > If you open either file, a message will appear on your screen
> saying: 'It is too late now, your life is no longer beautiful.'
> >
> > Subsequently you will LOSE EVERYTHING IN YOUR PC,
> > And the person who sent it to you will gain access to your name,
> e-mail and password.
> >
> > This is a new virus which started to circulate on Saturday
> afternoon. AOL has already confirmed the severity, and the anti virus
> software's are not capable of destroying it .
> >
> > The virus has been created by a hacker who calls himself 'life owner'.
> >
> > PLEASE SEND A COPY OF THIS E-MAIL TO ALL YOUR FRIENDS, And ask them to
> > PASS IT ON IMMEDIATELY!
>
> Anyone know if this has any truth in it as it looks abit silly to me???
>
> Big Lovings
>
> Pixeking Lord of the Small Woodland Creatures